Our Programmes

About our Programmes

Our programmes are divided into three main groups;

Third Level Academic Programmes

The Department of Lifelong Learning delivers programmes at National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ) Level 6; NFQ Level 7; NFQ Level 8 and NFQ Level 9. Each level and programme has its own entry requirements. These are clearly identified throughout the prospectus for each programme. If you are unsure of the most appropriate level for you, please contact the Department of Lifelong Learning.

When you apply to AIT you will note that many of our Third Level Academic Programmes are available through two modes of delivery: the ladder system or the ab initio route.

Professional Institute Programmes

The Department of Lifelong Learning deliver some courses in conjunction with professional bodies, such as the Association of Certified Chartered Accountants. The relevant professional body dictates the syllabus to be taught by AIT. In the majority of cases students have to register with and pay registration/examination fees to the relevant professional body as well as register with and pay tuition fees to AIT. This is detailed in the relevant course details in this prospectus. The examinations for these courses are set and managed by the relevant professional body, but generally the examinations take place in AIT or in the surrounding area. Each course is identified in the prospectus.

Applied Learning Programmes

Generally these courses take place one evening per week over a period of 8-10 weeks. Participants will learn new skills in the relevant area, but the focus of these courses is on the enjoyment of the learning. Participants who attend more than 75% of the scheduled classes will receive an Institute Certificate of Attendance on request. Examples of these courses are Introduction to Digital Photography and English for Beginners. Each course is identified in the prospectus. No formal assessment or award is associated with these courses.