AIT Contacts

Athlone Institute of Technology, Dublin Road, Athlone, Co Westmeath, Ireland

Connect with AIT via social media

Search Departments & Services

Athlone Institute Of Technology

Name Telephone Email
Athlone Institute of Technology + 353 (0)90 646 8000 + 353 (0)90 646 8148

Presidents' Office

Name Telephone Email
President 
Professor Ciarán Ó Catháin
(090) 646 8101 cocathain@ait.ie
Personal Assistant to President
Martina Moran
(090) 646 8101 mmoran@ait.ie
Project's Officer
Janet Owens
(090) 646 8102 jowens@ait.ie

Registar's Office

Name Telephone Email
Vice-President for Strategic Planning and Institutional Performance
John McKenna
(090) 646 8111 jmckenna@ait.ie
Academic Affairs and Student Administration Manager (Acting)
Mary Goode
(090) 646 8132 mgoode@ait.ie
Admissions Officer
Norrie O’Callaghan 
(090) 646 8130 admissions@ait.ie
Vice-President for Financial and Corporate Affairs 
Bill Delaney
(090) 646 8109 bdelaney@ait.ie
Personal Assistant to Secretary/Financial Controller
Trudy Stack
(090) 646 8109 tstack@ait.ie
Finance Manager
Betty Buckley
(090) 648 3058 bbuckley@ait.ie
Vice-President Academic & Registrar
Dr Niall Seery
(090) 646 8106 nseery@ait.ie
Personal Assistants to the Registrar
Eileen Murray
(090) 646 8106 registrar@ait.ie

Department of Lifelong Learning

Name Telephone Email
Head of Department
Dr Michael Tobin
(090) 647 1860 mtobin@ait.ie

Faculty of Engineering

Name Telephone Email
Dean of Faculty of Engineering & Informatics
Dr. Austin Hanley
353 (0)90 646 8150 ahanley@ait.ie
Head of Department of Electronics & Informatics
Mr. Marcus Rahilly
+ 353 (0)90 646 8155 mrahilly@ait.ie
Head of Department of Civil, Mechanical and Polymer Engineering & Trades
Mr. Joe Lawless
+ 353 (0)90 647 1824 jlawless@ait.ie

Faculty of Business

Name Telephone Email
Dean of Faculty of Business and Hospitality
Eoin Langan
+ 353 (0)90 646 8290 elangan@ait.ie 
Head of Department of Accounting and Business Computing
Trevor Prendergast
+ 353 (0)90 647 1857 tprendergast@ait.ie 
Head of Department of Business Studies
Owen Ross
+ 353 (0)90 647 1895 oross@ait.ie
Head of Department of Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Studies
Dr Anthony Johnston
+ 353 (0)90 647 1894 ajohnston@ait.ie

Faculty of Science and Health

Name Telephone Email
Dean of Faculty of Science and Health
Dr. Don Faller
+ 353 (0)90 644 2587 dfaller@ait.ie 
Head of Department of Life and Physical Science
Dr. Carol O'Donnell
+ 353 (0)90 646 8056 codonnell@ait.ie
Head of Department of Nursing and Health Science
Dr Pearse Murphy
+ 353 (0)90 647 1801  pmurphy@ait.ie
Head of Department of Social Science & Design
Oliver Hegarty
(090) 6442530 ohegarty@ait.ie
Head of Department of Sport & Health Sciences
Dr Aoife Lane
(090) 647 1849 alane@ait.ie

Office of Research

Name Telephone Email
Director of Innovation and Enterprise
Michael Lonergan
+ 353 (0)90 647 1882 mlonergan@ait.ie
Industry Programmes / Technology Transfer Manager
Breda Lynch
+ 353 (0)90 648 3041 blynch@ait.ie
Funded Research Manager
Lorna Walsh
+ 353 (0)90 647 1805 lwalsh@ait.ie
Programme Manager – New Frontiers
Nick Allen
+ 353 (0)90 648 3043 nallen@ait.ie
Enterprise Development Manager
Richard Blake
+ 353 (0)90 646 8279 rblake@ait.ie
Administrator / Innovation Vouchers Coordinator
Siobhán Lee
+ 353 (0)90 646 8116 slee@ait.ie
Administrator
Susan Carroll
+ 353 (0)90 648 3061 scarroll@ait.ie
Director of Graduate Studies
Dr Robert Stewart
+ 353 (0)90 647 1891 rstewart@ait.ie
Postgraduate Research Coordinator
Mary Duffy
+ 353 (0)90 646 8117 mduffy@ait.ie
Bioscience Research Institute Director
Prof Neil Rowan
+ 353 (0)90 647 1838 nrowan@ait.ie
Technical Postdoctoral Research Officer
Dr Owen Donohoe
+ 353 (0)90 646 8099 odonohoe@ait.ie
Software Research Institute Director
Dr Brian Lee
+ 353 (0)90 648 3035 blee@ait.ie
COMAND Centre Manager
Anthony Cunningham
+ 353 (0)90 648 3096 acunningham@ait.ie
Materials Research Institute Director
Dr Declan Devine
+ 353 (0)90 646 8291 ddevine@ait.ie
APT Centre Manager / CISD Manager
Dr Sean Lyons
+ 353 (0)90 646 8284 slyons@ait.ie
Senior Design Engineer, CISD
Conor Hayes
+ 353 (0)90 646 8283 chayes@ait.ie
Senior Research Officer, CISD
Alan Murphy
+ 353 (0)90 644 2575 amurphy@ait.ie

Other Useful Numbers

Name Telephone Email
Human Resources Manager
Liam Brennan
(090) 648( 3065 lbrennan@ait.ie
Director of Marketing
Orla Thornton
090 645 2557 othornton@ait.ie
Student Recruitment & Digital Marketing Executive 
Daniel Seery
090 646 8136 dseery@ait.ie
Director of International Relations
Mary Simpson
090 646 8272 international@ait.ie
Disability Liaison Officer
Bernie Langtry
090 646 8142 blangtry@ait.ie
Careers Officer
Denise Dolan
090 646 8129 ddolan@ait.ie
Student Resource Centre Manager
Sarah LaCumbre
090 646 8139 sarahlacumbre@ait.ie