Governing Body

The Governing Body, under the terms of the Institutes of Technology Act (1992 - 2006), shall manage and control the affairs of the institute and shall perform the functions conferred on the institute. It is, therefore, the authority established by law to govern the institute. The Governing Body receives reports from the President and senior officers of the institute, evaluates them and makes strategic and policy decisions as required. Implementation of these decisions is entrusted to the President and delegated to the appropriate officers of the institute. On academic matters, the Governing Body is advised by the Academic Council.

Governing Body members 2020-2025

Ó Catháin Ciarán President
Daly Áine President, Students’ Union
Devine John Students’ Union
Delamere Brigid AIT Academic Rep
Kelly Brendan AIT Academic Rep
Fitzgerald Dympna Professional, Management and

Support Staff

Connaughton Anna Hodson Bay Group
Rattigan Liam Russell Brennan Keane


Ryan Colette Alkermes (Pharmaceutical/Pharmatech)
Foley John NGO Sports
O’Meara James Ericsson
Keena Frankie Longford/Westmeath ETB
O’Toole Pat Longford/Westmeath ETB
Harte Colm Longford/Westmeath ETB
Claire Claffey Laois/Offaly ETB
Talty Geraldine ICTU